HBASE-20410 update protoc to 3.5.1-1 for rhel6
authorMike Drob <mdrob@apache.org>
Fri, 13 Apr 2018 14:44:59 +0000 (09:44 -0500)
committerMike Drob <mdrob@apache.org>
Fri, 13 Apr 2018 18:09:20 +0000 (13:09 -0500)
hbase-protocol-shaded/pom.xml
src/main/asciidoc/_chapters/developer.adoc

index 25443e1..ba4fa2d 100644 (file)
     <maven.javadoc.skip>true</maven.javadoc.skip>
     <!--Version of protobuf that hbase uses internally (we shade our pb)
          Must match what is out in hbase-thirdparty include.
+         3.5.1-1 is the same as 3.5.1 except includes corrected binaries for el6
+         to work around https://github.com/google/protobuf/issues/4109
            -->
-    <internal.protobuf.version>3.5.1</internal.protobuf.version>
+    <internal.protobuf.version>3.5.1-1</internal.protobuf.version>
   </properties>
   <build>
     <resources>
index 7cbf404..92b4e65 100644 (file)
@@ -433,18 +433,6 @@ convenience; however, the plugin may not be able to retrieve appropriate binarie
 on a platform where protoc fails, you will have to compile protoc from source, and run it independent of our maven build.
 You can disable the inline code generation by specifying `-Dprotoc.skip` in your maven arguments, allowing your build to proceed further.
 
-A similar failure relates to the stock CentOS 6 docker image providing a too old version of glibc for the version of protoc that we use.
-In this case, you would have to install glibc 2.14 and protoc 3.5.1 manually, then execute something like:
-
-[source,bourne]
-----
-cd hbase-protocol-shaded
-LD_LIBRARY_PATH=/opt/glibc-2.14/lib protoc \
-  --proto_path=src/main/protobuf \
-  --java_out=target/generated-sources/protobuf/java \
-  src/main/protobuf/*.proto
-----
-
 [NOTE]
 If you need to manually generate your protobuf files, you should not use `clean` in subsequent maven calls, as that will delete the newly generated files.